Humanitarian Awards

Humanitarian Awards 2014

The 2014 Humanitarian Awards were presented at Refugee Week on the 14th of June. To see a full list of winners, as well as other information about the Launch event, visit our Refugee Week page.

Every year STARTTS holds the Humanitarian Awards to acknowledge and thank those people who have made an exceptional positive contribution towards refugee issues in NSW. Individuals and organisations in various fields who are doing outstanding work to support refugees are eligible for the Awards.

Over the years, the Humanitarian Awards have honoured community leaders, youth workers, lawyers, journalists, teachers and many more – each of them making an incredible contribution to improving the lives of refugees.

In 2014, awards will be presented in the following categories:

Refugee community worker

Refugee supporter



Government and Legal



Rural and Regional


Best project

Essential info

Who can be nominated for a Humanitarian Award?

Anyone can be nominated for an Award, as long as their work with or for refugees is worthy of recognition and falls within one of the ten award categories.  Nominees can be individuals, organisations or specific projects.

Who can nominate?

Anyone can nominate another individual, organisation or project for an Award. An individual may also nominate themselves.

How do I make a nomination?

Start by downloading the ‘Humanitarian Awards 2014 Info Sheet’ to read more information about the Awards. Then make a nomination by either:

1. Completing the online nomination form

2. Downloading the Word document Humanitarian Awards 2014 Nomination Form, complete and return to STARTTS.

When do nominations close?

Nominations for this year’s Awards must be received by Friday 23rd May 2014.


For more information about the Awards email STARTTS Public Affairs Coordinator Richard Walker or call 9794 1900.