skip to Main Content
NSW Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors

Celebrating the 2024 NSW Humanitarian Award Winners

STARTTS Humanitarian Awards 2024 © Salty Dingo 2024

The NSW Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors (STARTTS) and the Refugee Council of Australia (RCOA) are thrilled to announce the winners of the 2024 NSW Humanitarian Awards. These prestigious accolades were presented on 1 July 2024, recognising individuals and organisations that have made exceptional contributions to the lives of refugees and asylum seekers in New South Wales.

The awards ceremony, hosted at Government House, was graced by Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AC KC, Governor of New South Wales. She expressed her honour in presenting the awards and commended the awardees for their remarkable efforts.

“The wonderful individuals and organisations recognised by these Awards exemplify the best of who we are as a community: compassionate, inclusive, and giving unwavering support for refugees who settle in NSW,” Governor Beazley stated.

Jorge Aroche, CEO of STARTTS, highlighted the significance of acknowledging the diverse efforts in refugee support. “We are constantly inspired by the dedication of individuals from all walks of life, including those with lived experience, who contribute significantly to the healing journey of refugees,” said Mr. Aroche. “These awards, presented within the iconic walls of Government House, serve as a powerful tribute to the individuals who make refugee resettlement programs a success.”

Paul Power, CEO of the Refugee Council of Australia, emphasised the shared responsibility in welcoming refugees. “The NSW Humanitarian Awards acknowledge the crucial role everyone plays in supporting refugees,” Mr. Power stated. “From various sectors like business, media, education, legal, and government – these awards celebrate exceptional efforts that empower newcomers to flourish in their new homes.”

This year’s NSW Humanitarian Award winners are:

  • Best Project: Armidale Refugee Health Team
  • Best Project (Highly Commended): The Dandelion Support Network
  • Business: Plate It Forward
  • Government and Legal: Ko Ko Aung
  • Media: Siobhan Marin and Mary Tran (ABC Compass)
  • Refugee Community Worker: Aung Kyaw Htut Saw
  • Refugee Community Worker (Highly Commended): Zainab Jalloh
  • Refugee Supporter: Michele Greenwood
  • Rural and Regional: Dr. Bipin Ravindran
  • Rural and Regional (Highly Commended): Aye Win
  • Sport: Ahmad Zarar Mujahid
  • Youth: Amro Zoabe

These winners represent the very best in humanitarian work, showcasing the incredible efforts and dedication that make a significant difference in the lives of refugees in NSW.

To learn more about the inspiring work of this year’s awardees, visit our 2024 NSW Humanitarian Awards Winners Page. Let’s celebrate and support those who are making a real impact in our community!

Back To Top