skip to Main Content

2021 NSW Humanitarian Awards

The Humanitarian Awards are your chance to nominate someone who deserves to be recognised for their excellent work supporting refugees, in whatever field they happen to be working in.

Every year STARTTS holds the Humanitarian Awards to acknowledge and thank those people who have made an exceptional positive contribution towards refugee issues in NSW. Individuals and organisations in various fields who are doing outstanding work to support refugees are eligible for the Awards. The award ceremony is held at the launch of Refugee Week in June each year.

Over more than a decade, the Humanitarian Awards have honoured community leaders, youth workers, lawyers, journalists, teachers and many more – each of them making an incredible contribution to improving the lives of refugees.

The Humanitarian Awards are proudly supported each year by our official partners, The Refugee Council of Australia and Refugee Week.

NSW Humanitarian Awards Ceremony

This year, The NSW Humanitarian Awards will be presented in an invitation only Ceremony on Monday 21 June at NSW Government House during Refugee Week. The event will be broadcast later online via social media on Saturday 26 June 2021.

In 2021, awards will be presented in the following categories:

Refugee community worker
Refugee supporter

Government and legal
Rural and regional

Best project

Essential information

If you have a nominee in mind, but you’re not sure which category to nominate them for, have a look at the category explanations below. Also, don’t forget that you can nominate people in up to three categories.

Refugee Community Worker

A former refugee working on refugee issues with their own or other refugee communities, in either a paid or unpaid position

Refugee Supporter

A member of the broader Australian community, of any background, supporting and assisting refugees in any capacity, in either a paid or unpaid position


Schools, Universities and other educational institutions, or individuals working at such institutions, who assist former refugees by breaking down barriers to education


A young person aged 12-25 of refugee background making an outstanding contribution to Australian society in their chosen field

Government and Legal

Individuals or organisations from the government or legal sectors working to advise, assist or support asylum seekers or refugees


Media outlets, journalists or media officers supporting, prioritising and/or raising awareness of refugee issues


Sports organisations or projects working with, assisting or supporting refugees

Rural and Regional

Organisations or individuals working in regional areas of NSW to assist refugees


Small or large businesses employing, assisting, established/run by or in any other way supporting refugees

Best Project

An outstanding project working with or assisting refugees. The project can be run by an individual, group or organisation, and can either be ongoing or completed during the last year.

Anyone can be nominated for an Award, as long as their work with or for refugees is worthy of recognition and falls within one of the ten award categories.  Nominees can be individuals, organisations or specific projects.

Anyone can nominate another individual, organisation or project for an Award. An individual may also nominate themselves.

Nominations for the 2021 Humanitarian Awards will be opened in April, and will include an explanation of how to do so.

The Nomination Form is very easy to fill out and you’ll find all the info there, but in a nutshell we want to know:

  1. What work has the nominee undertaken to support refugees?
  2. Why is this work an exceptional contribution to the field, above and beyond other people or projects?

The closing date for the 2021 Humanitarian Awards will be COB Friday 21 May 2021.

Special Message of the NSW Governor – NSW Humanitarian Awards Virtual Ceremony, 19 June, 2020 Refugee Week

Humanitarian Awards 2020

2020 NSW Humanitarian Award Recipients

Awards Ceremony Playback 
PLEASE NOTE: In the instance that you were unable to attend the live event, a playback of the Awards Ceremony will be uploaded to Facebook on World Refugee Day, Saturday, 20 June.

Back To Top